Loreto Duffy-Mayers – CTEC2018

Loreto Duffy-Mayers

Loreto Duffy-Mayers

Loreto Duffy-Mayers

Regional Programme Manager, Caribbean Hotel Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Action (CHENACT)

Loreto Duffy-Mayers was born in Dublin, Ireland and moved to Barbados in 1985. She was educated at University College Dublin and the UK Institute of Marketing.

She held the position of Environmental Manager in several Green Hotels, including Coconut Court Resort, Casuarina Beach Club (Barbados) and the Almond Resorts (3 hotels in Barbados and 2 in St. Lucia).

Loreto is currently the Regional Programme Manager for the Caribbean Hotel Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Action (CHENACT) Programme. This Programme, funded in the main by IDB is designed to improve the competitiveness of small to medium sized hotels (

She is a member of the Accreditation Panel of the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC) and has recently been invited to join the SIDS DOCK Island Women Open Network (IWON) Technical Sub- committee. The main objective of the network is to help implement the projects in the SIDS DOCK Project Pipeline, particularly projects that help improve the lives and livelihoods of women, children and the most vulnerable in society


James Whittaker

Founder, GreenTech Group; Founder and President, Cayman Islands Renewable Energy Association (CREA); Founder, Project Green School

Sacha Tibbetts

Vice President, Customer Service and Technology, Caribbean Utilities Company, Cayman Islands

Hon. D. Kurt Tibbetts, OBE, JP, MLA

Minister of Planning, Lands, Agriculture, Housing and Infrastructure, Cayman Islands

Steven Schiffbauer

Sustainability Coordinator, NCB Group

Tessa Williams Robertson

Head, Renewable Energy/Energy Efficiency Unit, Office of Vice-President (Operations), Caribbean Development Bank

Dr the Honourable Kedrick Pickering

Deputy Premier and Minister for Natural Resources & Labour, British Virgin Islands

Bjørnulf Østvik

Chairman and CEO of VikingPeak Energy

Eileen O’Rourke

President, OTEC International LLC, and CFO, The Abell Foundation, Inc.

Jeane Nikolai

Director of Energy, Government of Bermuda

J-Paul Morgan

CEO of the Utility Regulation and Competition Office of the Cayman Islands (OfReg)

Dr Peter Lilienthal

CEO of HOMER Energy

Hugo Hodge

Executive Vice President and General Manager, Caribbean Basin, for Tantalus Systems

Dr Devon Gardner

Programme Manager for Energy and Head of the Energy Unit at the Caribbean Community Secretariat

Dr James Fletcher

Former Minister for Sustainable Development, Saint Lucia

Chris Duggan

Vice President and Head of Community Development, Dart Enterprises