Jerry Butler – CTEC2018

Jerry Butler

Jerry Butler

Jerry Butler

IADB Executive Director

Jerry Christopher Butler was twice elected as IADB Executive Director after serving previously in 2004-2008. He headed a Bahamas-based private consultancy practice providing legal, financial, corporate and business advisory services. His firm specialized in identifying and executing Caribbean Project Investment opportunities in the Public and Private Sectors. He also served as Senior Consultant Advisor in the Office of the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance.

Mr. Butler is frequently accessed to provide strategic advisory services on policy and legislative initiatives throughout the Caribbean and Latin America. He is the Founding Chairman of the Caribbean Renewable Energy Forum (CREF), the largest and oldest Caribbean Event for renewable energy stakeholders. He served as Chairman of the Latin American Caribbean Council on Renewable Energy (LAC – ACORE) Advisory Board; Consultant on the World Bank Caribbean Entrepreneur (EPIC) SME Program; Deputy Chairman of the Bahamas Securities Commission; and Director of a significant Caribbean insurance company.

His professional experience in public accounting, wealth management and financial services spans over thirty (30) years in New York, Europe, and the Caribbean. He holds an MBA from the University of Miami (Summa Cum Laude Class Valedictorian), a BSc in Computer Science from New York’s Manhattan College, and studied law at the University of the West Indies. He is a New York State CPA, a licensed Chartered Accountant, Building Contractor, Financial and Corporate Services Provider (FCSP), Realtor, past President of Rotary Club of Nassau, past Treasurer of Junior Achievement Bahamas, and a Certified IAAF Coach in Track and Field Sports.


James Whittaker

Founder, GreenTech Group; Founder and President, Cayman Islands Renewable Energy Association (CREA); Founder, Project Green School

Sacha Tibbetts

Vice President, Customer Service and Technology, Caribbean Utilities Company, Cayman Islands

Hon. D. Kurt Tibbetts, OBE, JP, MLA

Minister of Planning, Lands, Agriculture, Housing and Infrastructure, Cayman Islands

Steven Schiffbauer

Sustainability Coordinator, NCB Group

Tessa Williams Robertson

Head, Renewable Energy/Energy Efficiency Unit, Office of Vice-President (Operations), Caribbean Development Bank

Dr the Honourable Kedrick Pickering

Deputy Premier and Minister for Natural Resources & Labour, British Virgin Islands

Bjørnulf Østvik

Chairman and CEO of VikingPeak Energy

Eileen O’Rourke

President, OTEC International LLC, and CFO, The Abell Foundation, Inc.

Jeane Nikolai

Director of Energy, Government of Bermuda

J-Paul Morgan

CEO of the Utility Regulation and Competition Office of the Cayman Islands (OfReg)

Dr Peter Lilienthal

CEO of HOMER Energy

Hugo Hodge

Executive Vice President and General Manager, Caribbean Basin, for Tantalus Systems

Dr Devon Gardner

Programme Manager for Energy and Head of the Energy Unit at the Caribbean Community Secretariat

Dr James Fletcher

Former Minister for Sustainable Development, Saint Lucia

Chris Duggan

Vice President and Head of Community Development, Dart Enterprises