Dr James Fletcher – CTEC2018

Dr James Fletcher

Dr James Fletcher

Dr James Fletcher

Former Minister for Sustainable Development, Saint Lucia

Dr. James Fletcher, Saint Lucia’s former Minister for Sustainable Development, joins CTEC 2017 to talk about the critical need for collaboration as islands undertake the transition of their energy sector.

Dr. Fletcher is a well-respected climate policy leader. As Saint Lucia’s minister with responsibility for climate change during the negotiations that led to the adoption and signing of the historic Paris Agreement, he led climate change negotiations on behalf of the Caribbean region and was a key figure in the high level negotiating team of the Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS), leading for AOSIS on the contentious issues of Ambition and Loss and Damage.

Dr Fletcher’s key specialist areas are:

  • Climate Change
  • Renewable Energy
  • SIDS Development Issues
  • Information and Communications Technology for Development
  • Agriculture Policy
  • Public Policy Development.



James Whittaker

Founder, GreenTech Group; Founder and President, Cayman Islands Renewable Energy Association (CREA); Founder, Project Green School

Sacha Tibbetts

Vice President, Customer Service and Technology, Caribbean Utilities Company, Cayman Islands

Hon. D. Kurt Tibbetts, OBE, JP, MLA

Minister of Planning, Lands, Agriculture, Housing and Infrastructure, Cayman Islands

Steven Schiffbauer

Sustainability Coordinator, NCB Group

Tessa Williams Robertson

Head, Renewable Energy/Energy Efficiency Unit, Office of Vice-President (Operations), Caribbean Development Bank

Dr the Honourable Kedrick Pickering

Deputy Premier and Minister for Natural Resources & Labour, British Virgin Islands

Bjørnulf Østvik

Chairman and CEO of VikingPeak Energy

Eileen O’Rourke

President, OTEC International LLC, and CFO, The Abell Foundation, Inc.

Jeane Nikolai

Director of Energy, Government of Bermuda

J-Paul Morgan

CEO of the Utility Regulation and Competition Office of the Cayman Islands (OfReg)

Dr Peter Lilienthal

CEO of HOMER Energy

Hugo Hodge

Executive Vice President and General Manager, Caribbean Basin, for Tantalus Systems

Dr Devon Gardner

Programme Manager for Energy and Head of the Energy Unit at the Caribbean Community Secretariat

Dr James Fletcher

Former Minister for Sustainable Development, Saint Lucia

Chris Duggan

Vice President and Head of Community Development, Dart Enterprises